Teacher teaching

Get Involved

Advocacy begins with your voice. Join us in the movement to ensure a strong, robust charter school sector in Washington, DC and transform the lives of DC’s students.

Contact Your Officials

Executive Office of the Mayor

Muriel Bowser, Mayor
eom@dc.gov

Paul Kihn, Deputy Mayor for Education
Paul.Kihn@dc.gov

DC Council

Phil Mendelson, Chairman
pmendelson@dccouncil.gov

Anita Bonds, At-Large Councilmember
Member of the Committee on Education
abonds@dccouncil.gov

David Grosso, At-Large Councilmember
Chair of the Committee on Education
dgrosso@dccouncil.gov

Elissa Silverman, At-Large Councilmember
esilverman@dccouncil.gov

Robert C. White, Jr., At-Large Councilmember
Member of the Committee on Education
rwhite@dccouncil.gov

Brianne K. Nadeau, Ward 1 Councilmember
bnadeau@dccouncil.gov

Ward 2: Vacant

Mary M. Cheh, Ward 3 Councilmember
mcheh@dccouncil.gov

Brandon T. Todd, Ward 4 Councilmember
btodd@dccouncil.gov

Kenyan R. McDuffie, Ward 5 Councilmember
kmcduffie@dccouncil.gov

Charles Allen, Ward 6 Councilmember
Member of the Committee on Education
callen@dccouncil.gov

Vincent C. Gray, Ward 7 Councilmember
vgray@dccouncil.gov

Trayon White, Sr., Ward 8 Councilmember
Member of the Committee on Education
twhite@dccouncil.gov

DC Council’s Committee on Education

Akeem Anderson, Committee Director
aanderson@dccouncil.gov

Ashley Strange, Committee Legislative Assistant
astrange@dccouncil.gov

Christa Pluff, Committee Legislative Advisor
cpluff@dccouncil.gov

DC Public Charter School Board

Scott Pearson, Executive Director
spearson@dcpcsb.org

Rick Cruz, Chair
rcruz@dcpcsb.org

Saba Bireda, Vice Chair
Sbireda@dcpcsb.org

Steve Bumbaugh, Treasurer
sbumbaugh@dcpcsb.org

Lea Crusey
lcrusey@dcpcsb.org

Ricarda Ganjam
rganjam@dcpcsb.org

DC State Board of Education

Emily Gasoi, Ward 1
emily.gasoi@dc.gov

Jack Jacobson, Ward 2
jack.jacobson@dc.gov

Ruth Wattenberg, Ward 3
ruth.wattenberg@dc.gov

Frazier O’Leary, Ward 4
Frazier.OLeary@dc.gov

Zachary Parker, Ward 5
zachary.parker@dc.gov

Jessica Sutter, Ward 6
jessica.sutter@dc.gov

Karen Williams, Ward 7
karen.williams5@dc.gov

Markus Batchelor, Ward 8
markus.batchelor@dc.gov

Ashley MacLeay, At-Large
ashley.macleay@dc.gov

ANCs and Civic Organizations

Find your local ANC here. Find your local civic organizations here.

Attend an Event

Check out our events calendar to attend an upcoming event highlighting a charter school, a data workshop, professional development, and more!

Views Navigation

Today

Join the Alliance

Student Smiling
Join the DC Charter School Alliance

Sign up to join the DC Charter School Alliance

Support the Sector

For school memberships, click here.

Become a Corporate Partner

For corporate partnerships, click here.

DC Charter School Alliance News and Updates

Read the latest news and information about the DC charter school sector and how we can build more effective public schools in the District of Columbia.

See All News and Updates

Testimony Before the Council of the District of Columbia Committee of the Whole at the Public Roundtable on: Statewide Data Warehouse Amendment Act of 2021 & Teacher and Principal Turnover & Retention in the District

Good afternoon, Chairman Mendelson and members of the Committee. My name is Ariel Johnson and I am the Executive Director of the DC Charter School Alliance, the local non-profit that advocates for the 46,000 public charter school students in the district. I am also a...

read more

Get Involved

Advocacy begins with your voice. Join us in the movement to ensure a strong, robust charter school sector in Washington, DC and transform the lives of DC’s students.